Board of Directors


The affairs of the Association is governed by the Board of Directors, which is composed of not more than twenty-five (25) members elected by Regular Members of the Association at a General Meeting.

Consider and approve applications for new membership;

  • Decide and act on all policy matters and projects to meet the objectives and purposes of the Association;
  • Receive and consider any suggestion or proposal from the members;
  • Adopt rules and procedures for the conduct of Board Meetings and the General Meetings; and
  • Undertake any other business as authorised by the ABA Charter.

The Board elects from among themselves a Chairman and a Vice Chairman who serve for a term of two years. The Chairman serves as the chief executive officer of the Association. The Vice Chairman performs the duties of the Chairman during the Chairman’s absence or temporary disability.

  • The current members of the Board of Directors for the term 2019 ~ 2021 include the following:


Mr. Antonio Jonathan Alles

Managing Director & CEO

Hatton National Bank
(Sri Lanka)

Board Members

Mr. Dorji Kadin

Chief Executive Officer

Bank of Bhutan Ltd.

Dr. David K. P. Li

Chairman & Chief Executive

The Bank of East Asia, Ltd.
(Hong Kong)

Mr. Shrirang Prabhakar Ketkar

Country Head & CEO

State Bank of India, HK Branch

Mr. Khan Mohammedi Fard

Head of FX Treasury & International Development Dept.

EN Bank

Mr. Mostafa Beheshti Rouy

Member of Board of Director & Executive Board Member

Bank Pasargad

Mr. Takayoshi Futae

Senior Managing Executive Officer, Regional Executive for Asia

MUFG Bank, Ltd.

Mr. Masayuki Sugawara

Managing Executive Officer

Head of east Asia
Mizuho Bank, Ltd.


Ryuji Nishisaki

Senior Managing Executive Officer, Co-Head Of Global Banking Unit, SMBC

Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corp.

Mr. Michael Foong Seong Yew

Group Chief Strategy Officer & Chief Executive Officer, International

Malayan Banking Berhad

Mr. Timothy Sawyer

Chief Executive Officer

Bank of Maldives

Mr. Jose Arnulfo “Wick” A. Veloso

President & CEO

Philippine National Bank

Mr. Eugene S. Acevedo

President & Chief Executive Officer

Rizal Commercial Banking Corp.

Mr. Ng Sier Han

Global Head for Financial Institutions Group, Institutional Banking Group

DBS Bank

Dr. Shing-Shiang Ou

Senior Executive Vice President

Taiwan Financial Holdings

Mr. Daniel Wu

President & CEO

CTBC Financial Holding Co., Ltd.

Mr. Tsan-Chang Liao


The First Commercial Bank

Mr. Chao-Shun Chang


Mega International Commercial Bank

Mr. Chaiyarit Anuchitworawong

Senior Executive Vice President & Co-Head of International Banking Group

Bangkok Bank PCL

Mr. Nghiem, Xuan Thanh

Chairman of the Board

Joint-stock Commercial Bank for Foreign Trade of Vietnam (Vietcombank)

Mr. Pham Duc An


Vietnam Bank for Agriculture & Rural Development

Mr. Oliver Hoffmann

Managing Director, Head of Asia

Erste Group Bank AG, Hong Kong Branch

Advisory Council

Advisory Council is composed of the former chairmen and eminent persons in banking and finance as selected by the Board who are willing and able to give time for the purposes of the Council.

The Advisory Council gives advice to the officers and to the Board to ensure continuity and stability of policies and activities that would redound to the benefit and improvement of the Association and which would achieve its objectives and purposes. It may initiate such advice or render it in response to the request of the Chairman, the Board and the General Meetings.

  • The current members of the Advisory Council are the following:

Mr. Daniel Wu


CTBC Financial Holding Co., Ltd.

Mr. Lorenzo V. Tan

Managing Director

Primeiro Partners

Mr. Rajendra Theagarajah

Managing Director & CEO | Former Managing Director & CEO

Cargills Bank Limited | Hatton National Bank

Ms. Susan S. Chang

Advisor | Former Chairperson

The Bankers Association of the Republic of China | Bank of Taiwan

Mr. McKinney Y. T. Tsai

Former Chairman of the Board

Mega International Commercial Bank

Mr. Dong-Soo Choi

Former Advisor to the CEO

Shinhan Bank

Dr. Yung-San Lee

Former Chairman

International Commercial Bank of China | Chang Hwa Commercial Bank, Ltd.

YBhg Senator Tan Sri Amirsham A Aziz

Chairman | Former President & CEO

Themed attractions and Sdn Bhd | Malayan Banking Berhad

Hon. Peter B. Favila

Monetary Board Member | Former President

Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas | PNB

Dr. David K. P. Li

Chairman & Chief Executive

The Bank of East Asia, Ltd.

Dr. Mochtar Riady


Lippo Group & Mochtar Riady Institute for Nanotechnology

Dr. Amnuay Viravan

Chairman | Former Chairman & Executive of the Board

Saha-Union Public Co., Ltd. | Bangkok Bank, PCL


The Secretariat’s daily operations and planning are led by the Secretary-Treasurer, the Deputy Secretary and a staff  in charge of preparing meetings and conferences, conceiving policy positions, organizing training programs, among many other tasks, as well as maintaining communication with banks in the Asia Pacific regions.


Mr. Ernest Lin


The Asian Bankers Association

Mr. Amador Honrado

Deputy Secretary

The Asian Bankers Association